Tuesday, 11 October 2016

Int'l Preparatory Committee for 2017 Meeting Praising Great Persons of Mt. Paektu Formed

 Pyongyang, October 11 (KCNA) -- The international preparatory committee for the 2017 Meeting Praising Great Persons of Mt. Paektu was inaugurated with due ceremony in Jakarta, Indonesia on Oct. 6. It was co-sponsored by the Asia-Pacific Regional preparatory committee and the Indonesian preparatory committee.
    The ceremony discussed the issue related to the holding of the meeting, the issue of fixing the rounds of the meeting in order to regularize and further develop it as a festival praising the great persons of Mt. Paektu and erecting a monument to praising them in Mt. Paektu and the issue of conducting brisk solidarity activities for supporting the just cause of the Korean people and of rendering sincere assistance to the campaign of recovering from the flood damage in the northern part of North Hamgyong Province in the DPRK as an immediate task.
    At the ceremony Kim Ki Nam, vice-chairman of the Central Committee of the Workers' Party of Korea, and former Nepalese Prime Minister Madav Kumar Nepal were elected honorary chairmen of the international preparatory committee, Kim Jong Suk, chairwoman of the Korean Committee for Solidarity with the World People who doubles as chairwoman of the Korean Committee for Cultural Relations with Foreign Countries, Socorro Gomes, president of the World Peace Council, Helmi El Hadidi, chairman of the Afro-Asian People's Solidarity Organization, Rachmawati Soekarnoputri, chairwoman of the Founding Committee of the Soekarno Foundation for Education of Indonesia, Peter Woods, co-chairman of the Asia-Pacific Regional Committee for Supporting Peaceful Reunification of Korea, Fumihiro Himori, chairman of the Japan Committee for Supporting the Independent and Peaceful Reunification of Korea, Guy Dupre, president of the France-Korea Friendship Association, Petrov, chairman of the Russian Association for Friendship and Cultural Cooperation with the DPRK, Anders Kristensen, chairman of the Denmark-DPRK Friendship Association, Acilino Riveiro, chairman of the Brazilian Committee for Remembering Leader
Kim Jong Il, Damian Ogbonna, national chairman of the People's Progressive Party of Nigeria, and Yehia Zakaria Khairullah, chairman of the Egypt-Korea Friendship Association, its co-chairpersons.
    An appeal to all progressive people in the world was made public at the ceremony.
    A letter to supreme leader Kim Jong Un was adopted there. -0-

No comments: